HARVINGTON Society members celebrated 25 years of competition with a return to Burford for the annual championship.

In the morning strokeplay round, Tony Waghorn and Andy Basford set the early pace with nett 65 and 69 respectively.

Basford impressed with a second-round 73 only to be beaten into second place by Paul Harper, whose classy score of 69 won the championship on count-back.

In the stableford for nonqualifiers, Colin Harris managed 39 points for a narrow victory over Robin Proctor and Fred Fawkes, who won the nearest the pin prize.