PERSHORE secured the Worcestershire Cricket Board's over-45s crown with a 31-run success over Droitwich on Sunday.

The Plums went one better than last year's runners-up berth as Dom Capaldi retired on 50 not out with Martin Johnson (46) and Neal Cooper (37*) contributing to a stellar total of 172 from 35 overs.

In response, Droitwich were skittled for 141 with Paul Bryan (51*) and Karl Goddard (34*) leading their middle-order rally after a slow start.

The Plums enjoyed an unbeaten campaign having also overcome Rushwick, Stourport, Bewdley and Earlswood on their way to lifting the silverware.