DAVID Annis, Daniel Day and Will Gearey starred for Worcester Swimming Club at the West Midlands Regional Championships in Coventry.

The trio produced impressive results to help bring the Worcester medal tally to 41, netting 17 golds, 15 silvers and 9 bronzes as 14 swimmers reached finals.

Annis, competing in the men’s 11 to 12 age group, won four golds, five silvers and two bronzes.

His success included a superb first place in the 200 IM, finishing on 2.37.41, 0.44 seconds ahead of his City of Birmingham rival.

Day swam the fastest and second fastest British Championship qualifying times this year to win the men’s 14 100m backstroke (1.02.35) and 200m backstroke (2.16.60) respectively.

In total he secured three first places and two runners-up spots.

Gearey, competing in the men’s 15 age group, continues to impress with a first place in the 50m & 100m freestyle, a win in the 100m backstroke and a gold and silver in the butterfly.

Worcester men’s 14 to 16 400m freestyle team of Louis Doyle, Gearey, Alex Farmer and Day secured third ahead of Birmingham and Coventry.

Although they did it in an impressive time of 3.52.97 it may not be quite quick enough to qualify for the National Championships.

The girls also produced some excellent swims with sisters Lauren and Megan Annis picking up three medals and Olivia Fletcher finishing in the top three in six of the women’s 16 age group finals.

Tabitha Monkhouse, on form with a personal best time of 1.03.90, won the women’s 17 and over 100m butterfly. Monkhouse also came first in the 50m butterfly and the 100m breaststroke.

In the 50m breaststroke she managed to pip her Worcester team-mate Lucy Clayton by just over a second.

Other Worcester finalists: Josie Armstrong, Jakob Baker, Heather Castle, Aaron Cook, Jenny Gearey, George Glover, Charlotte Hall, Harvey Lloyd, Naomi Marsden, Bethan Stokes, Matt Thomas, Emily West and Robbie Williams.

Also competing from Worcester were: Michael Agoston, Megan Bury, Kieran Cooper, Edward Cox, Charles and Hannah Dixon, Natasha Dobson, Olivia Eggleton, Amelie and Madeleine Fox-Haskins, Kai Gooden-Morris, Henry Halford, Sam Hall, Sam Hartley, Daisy Jones, Maisie Lyons, Emma McKay, Aimee Monks, Eleanor Niel, Adam Rutter, Isabelle Trow, Brodie Willetts, Henry and Holly Workman and Rebecca Yates.